Mohon tunggu...
Mamad Anawawi
Mamad Anawawi Mohon Tunggu... -
Akun Diblokir

Akun ini diblokir karena melanggar Syarat dan Ketentuan Kompasiana.
Untuk informasi lebih lanjut Anda dapat menghubungi kami melalui fitur bantuan.

to write is to enlighten...

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Bahasa

Denied by Family: The Story of My Life

25 Februari 2014   19:04 Diperbarui: 24 Juni 2015   01:29 52
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Bahasa. Sumber ilustrasi: FREEPIK/Jcstudio

Have you ever been denied by your loved ones? You might have or have not.
I just want to tell you my story of denial...

I was born in a strict religious family. My father is a hajj, and immam of village mosque. I was treated well since my childhood and was enrolled in a qualified madrassah.My families were so proud of me, and I too was so proud of myself. But it didn't happen quite long...

After finishing my senior high, i left my little town, pursuing higher education. Because I really wanted to be an islamic scholar, i then applied for religious study at a State Institute of Islamic Religion (IAIN) in Jakarta. The environment was very different from my previous madrassah. I was introduced to new ideas of some islamic scholars I've never heard before. i read many sources and attended academic seminars about Islam. It was so annoying at first, but i kept going.

At the third year of my study, i thought i have found the truth of my religion. And the truth is, i didn't find the Truth. There more i studied, the more i found so many cruel things against humanity, such as discrimination and oppression against women, honor killing, jihad, labeling others as kafir, anti-tolerism, and so on so forth. It was a real pain. One way or another, i had to take a decision, either to deny it and pretending as if everything was right, or to follow the new path for the Truth.

I then chose the second one: leaving Islam for the Truth. I knew the consequences of my choice. First time i told my parents, they were so shocked. They got mad and forced me to think over my decision. They even threatened to deny me as one of their child. i agreed to think it over. During my reflection period, i and my father argued a lot of on religious matters. Most of the time, he couldn't answer it, or by simply saying: "it is Allah's will that..." There's no logical reason for any laws or believes, just like the arguments of many radicals and fundamentalists in this country.

It took one year until i fully believed my decision. I was ready for any bad consequence that might happen. There was no other way to force me to comply for faith i did not truly believe anymore, even if it had to put my life at risk of bloody death.
My parents did what they promised: they denied me as their son and expelled me out of home.

It's been three years since i left my house. I am not sorry for what i have decided, and am happy for it. I have made contacts with my mom. She is missing me a lot, as well as me. But my father still denies me. I believe, deep down in his heart he loves and miss' me too. I can understand his decision. It is due to his status as an ustadz and hajj, that keeps him away from me. If only he were not a hajj, everything will be just fine. But I believe one day, my parents too will find the Truth. I am praying for it every single day...

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Bahasa Selengkapnya
Lihat Bahasa Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun