Mohon tunggu...
Fz
Fz Mohon Tunggu... Buruh - Adventurer

The greatest pleasure in life is doing something that people say you can't do it, believe in yourself and Allah because we're who we chose to be.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Humaniora

The Presence of Coronavirus on Earth's Health

20 Maret 2020   11:30 Diperbarui: 27 Maret 2020   11:54 120
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Humaniora. Sumber ilustrasi: PEXELS/San Fermin Pamplona

Nowadays, COVID-19, known as coronavirus, is a crucial issue which makes governments all over the world concern more because the virus spreads widely and massively. As well as previous coronavirus generations, SARS and MERKS, COVID-19 transmits from animals to people and spreads among the people. 

However, the fatality ratio of COVID-19 is lower compared by SARS and MERKS, but the virus successfully creates anxiety because the virus has infected more than 220 hundreds people in more than 150 countries around the world (20/3). While the vaccine of the virus is also not found yet and still under development. All countries have attempted to apply some policies for curbing negative effects of the virus, for instance providing good public health facilities which can be publicly accessible, encouraging social distancing, implementing lockdown, giving update information related to the virus, and so on.

Despite of it, reducing social activities and discontinuing economic activities for a while apparently are able to decrease air pollution significantly. As a country where the virus emerged for the first time, China, its Ecology and Environmental Ministry reported that good air quality of China increased 21% in February 2020 compared to the same period last year (www.cnn.com, 2020). 

Some scientists had revealed that increasing of air pollution has strong correlation with increasing of death. It's obviously good for earth and human being but inevitably the economic disruption will also generate some horrible effects, such us global economic slow down, scarcity, crime, and even world hunger.

Well, I am not an expert of virology or an environmental activist or even an economist. I'm just a person affected by "social distancing" impact and tend to spend my time by doing some interesting activities. Take my information seriously but stay chill, hehehe. This issue is remembering me about my morning discussion with an Indian sea captain when I had vacation in Bangkok. I'm so sorry because I'm drawing a blank about his name but It is not quite necessary to recognize his name, isn't it !

In a sunny morning, I had taken some slice of breads and a glass of milk and enjoyed my early breakfast before I met my friend to travel around the city. Suddenly, a polite friendly old man came to me and asked a permission to join breakfast in my desk and I allowed it. Don't worry as traveler I have a distinctive quick screening method for identifying whether someone is good or not. Hahaha.

Long story short,

A big terrible natural disaster in Indonesia, called by tsunami Aceh, was a topic which opened our small talk. He told me how the nature worked and why the disaster happened because he believed that as same as human being, the earth also need a balancing for its existence. Furthermore, he continued his explanation that everything which happens in this world is a result of the interaction between human and the earth, when we take something out from the earth someday the earth will put in everything into its stomach. 

Instead of telling his family stories which informed me that he has two daughter who had studied medical in China, surprisingly he told me about Soeharto regime and Soeharto son's business and how they handled their business. Oh my God, It was a random morning conversation but so many insightful inspiring information.

Back to the virus issue, throughout my writing, I just want you to reflect my old story with the presence of coronavirus nowadays, so make a perfect conclusion independently based on your own understanding. Hahahaha. See you on my next random post ! Enjoy your social distancing and don't forget to wash your hand as much as you can !

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Humaniora Selengkapnya
Lihat Humaniora Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun