Mohon tunggu...
Leon Tegra Wiragunadi
Leon Tegra Wiragunadi Mohon Tunggu... Mahasiswa - Mahasiswa

In god we trust

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Pendidikan

My Identity

24 September 2022   22:43 Diperbarui: 26 September 2022   15:56 181
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.

Identity is a dynamic, abstract notion with many facets that is fundamental to everyday communication, especially intercultural communication (Samovar, 2016, p.243). The idea that identity is also socially created means that it is shaped by how others perceive us and how we see ourselves. Through introspective views of ourselves, we can see our identity.

Identity is one of the most crucial psychological components for the individual (Samovar, 2016, p.246). Teenagers who struggle to establish a strong sense of self are plagued by identity uncertainty, a lack of understanding of who they are and what their place in the world is. Every individual has multiple identities, which they can be categorized as personal, relational, and communal.

My personal identity is that I am my little sister's big brother. Fun fact: My sister was born when I was in the eighth grade, so we are 13 years apart. I had assumed that I would be the only child in my family. 13 years of my life were spent alone, playing alone, and doing everything by myself. As a result, it helped me develop an independent and introverted personality that is still a part of who I am now. My character as a diligent worker was also formed by my birth into a farming family. Unlike other youngsters, I used to assist my family in caring for their farm, especially on the weekends.        

I identify as a mixes Javanese and Dayaknese ethnicity. My father was born in Java, but when he was 3 years old, his family moved him to Kalimantan, and he never went back. In Kalimantan, my mother was born and raised. I was raised in Kalimantan and never had any real contact with Javanese language or culture. I have grown up around Dayak culture and language. However, since moving to Yogyakarta, I have been very familiar with Javanese language and culture. Because of my appearance that I possessed a light skin tone, many of my friend thought that I was full Dayaknese until I tell them that I am actually mixed. Because of my Kalimantanese accent and the fact that most of my friends don't really understand what I'm saying when I use it when speaking to them, I used to find it difficult to communicate with my university friends when I initially joined in the university, so I had to adapt to an accent I called the “city accent”. 

Reference: 

Samovar, L. A., Porter, R. E., McDaniel, E. R., & Roy, C. S. (2016). Communication between cultures. Cengage Learning.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Pendidikan Selengkapnya
Lihat Pendidikan Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun