Mohon tunggu...
VanillaYa
VanillaYa Mohon Tunggu... Editor - what up

not much just someone who cant stop romanticizing her life for being the main character of a story.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Pendidikan

My Different Education System

2 Oktober 2020   01:08 Diperbarui: 2 Oktober 2020   01:20 69
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.

Education is the most important thing that can bring changes to everything in this world. Education is the valuable investment for us to become a better human being. This world has a lot of knowledge that we must learn, in this way, education system exists. 

The term education system generally refers to public schooling but actually there are lots of kinds of education systems and I've experienced what it felt like to become the one who have taken it in different way.

I was a homeschooler myself. Back then, I had took homeschooled as my way to educate myself and study things. Due to some personal circumstances, I was transferred from a public school to then choose to be homeschooled . 

At the first semester of the third grade of elementary school, I was being bullied so bad by this one boy. He was my classmate and I had no idea why would he bully me that time.  Ever since then, I was always coming home with my eyes swollen because of crying. 

I told my parents about it, but they just told me back that I have to solve it myself why would a boy who I have nothing to do with bully me in the first place. Surprisingly, one of my friend told me that the boy was having a crush on me. 

I was so confused back then that he chose to express his feelings by bullying me. Both my parents were tired of me coming back home crying so they decided to get me transfer to other school. When that happened, my dad had a friend whose children were homeschooled and so, my life as a homeschooler begun.

Thinking back to my one week after transferring school, it was quite fun. The word homeschooling was nothing like what I had in mind. I thought to be homeschooled meant to have no friends, to have little social interactions, and to always stay inside at home. The first day of learning, I studied what it felt like to be a farmer working in the field, I studied with nature and it was so fun. 

I had lots of friends too and we communicated a lot, it was indeed way so far from being called with zero interactions. For teacher, I had my own teacher, of course my parents, but they weren't my everyday teacher who taught me academic subjects, because in my place, there were actually specialization teachers in order to teach academic subjects. My study schedule was always changing every one month and I had classes just in five days a week with time duration four hours for each day.

 To be simple, being homeschooled was just like taking some courses. It was so different and not like regular school. There weren't so many rules that I must obey, I had no uniforms, I didn't have to wake up early because classes started at 9 am, and study didn't have to be inside the class. 

I have learnt so many things, not just academics but other skills too. I've done so many outside studies, fieldtrips, camping, and having fun with experimental science. I've taken this education system until I graduate and continuing collage, but to be honest, I was beyond grateful for being a homeschooler. Everyone was so kind, my friends too. 

We didn't do stereotype nor discrimination, we were all just family. There's this one quote that caught my heart from one of my teachers "homeschooling signify having a different education system, because of that, we're here to educate you to be the best version of yourself and help you to find what path you want to choose in your life" Accordingly, I was so proud to be homeschooled.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Pendidikan Selengkapnya
Lihat Pendidikan Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun