Mohon tunggu...
Aisanya Wibhuti
Aisanya Wibhuti Mohon Tunggu... -

Perempuan biasa dengan sudut pandang yang (terkadang) tidak biasa.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Sosbud

Strayed Animals and Us

10 April 2012   06:49 Diperbarui: 25 Juni 2015   06:48 61
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.

Few weeks ago, I happened to read twit from Mimit (@dianparamita) saying that there's 3 dogs need adopter. Its Acha (f, 3-4m), Acho (m, 3-4m), and Aston (m, 3-4m). Since we just lost our dog, Acil (m, 1y) in a terrible motorcycle accident, I decided to respond to Mimit's twit. The three of the dogs were temporarily put in Meces Shelter, on Kaliurang area, Jogjakarta. And as soon as I found the time, I went there to pick Acho up, can only afford to adopt one since we always have one dog back at home. And so, here we were.. Acho is one happy dog. I was sooo happy to pick him up. The next day, when I met my uncle, he told me that he just lost his dog named Dolly to bunch of irresponsible people who would want to have Dolly butchered. And immediately I remembered Aston. So, once again I went to the shelter and pick Aston up. Here he is.

What a handsome boy! ^^ And during the adoption I met these amazing people, who dedicated their lives to save strayed/abandoned animals. Mas Jonathan (@tidvrberjalan) and Mbak Nong (@Nongki__). They are the ones who saved this 3A from Magelang. The owner was neglecting the mother and these three dogs, resulting malnutrition. During the rescue, 3A was in bad shape as Mas Jo told me. The three of them needed one full month of recovery before they can be declared healthy and got their first vaccine. Only after, Mas Jo then spreading the words for them to adopt. I was stunned. I often depicting myself as an idealist, one with vision not only for my personal life but for my country and nation. But compare to Mas Jo and Mbak Nong, I am simply nothing. They speak out loud through their actions. And they saved so many lives already. Within their hearts, under all of that tattoos (which scaring my little sister, Wetti @wettiaw, btw), they have unconditional love, manifests in such deep care and share for strayed animals. I told my friend back from high school, when we used to declare ourselves as the 'pecinta alam', who the hell we have saved all these times but ourselves? Shame on us! On twitter (at least) now, so many people campaign to adopt animals rather than buy one in pet shops, including Tommy Lee, who is recently made the news not to buy dogs in pet shops. And I can't be more agree with the statement. So many shelters, so many strayed animals out there. It is time to quit thinking and preaching about being harmonious with the nature. Be harmonious! Share and care for all beings within our surroundings!

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Sosbud Selengkapnya
Lihat Sosbud Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun