Mohon tunggu...
Rijo Tobing
Rijo Tobing Mohon Tunggu... Novelis - Novelis

Penulis buku kumpulan cerpen "Randomness Inside My Head" (2016), novel "Bond" (2018), dan kumpulan cerpen "The Cringe Stories" (2020) dalam bahasa Inggris. rijotobing.wordpress.com. setengah dari @podcast.thechosisters on Instagram.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Puisi

Kids These Days

30 Oktober 2017   22:47 Diperbarui: 31 Oktober 2017   01:24 309
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Puisi. Sumber ilustrasi: PEXELS/icon0.com

One day I remember them reaching for my hands, being cuddled in my embrace.

Today I see them getting away when I try to hold them still.

One day I remember them hiding behind my back, so afraid of new people they met.

Today I see them going to their teachers, the few adults they trust.

One day I remember them carrying two balls with the crooks of their arms, always stumbling after tens of steps.

Today I see them playing with jump rope, running with all their might, chasing around their friends.

Today I sillily ask myself where the time has gone. Why is it being used up all too quickly?

And every day I remember that the time ticks just the same. It’s my children who are growing up before my eyes.

Sometimes I want to put a leash on the seconds. Don’t grow too fast, spare me more sweet memories to hold onto when I’m old.

Many times I realize that that is a vain wish. Children run with time. It doesn’t hold them back; they don’t let it keep them from the future.

One day I remember looking at my growing belly with wonder. How can I carry a human being inside of me?

Today I hold my precious children close and I always pray blessings for their lives.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Puisi Selengkapnya
Lihat Puisi Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun