Mohon tunggu...
Carlos Camelo
Carlos Camelo Mohon Tunggu... Guru - Educator and life learner

Welcome to my blog! I'm so excited to share my thoughts on education, spirituality, body and mind, and practical wisdom with you. Here, I aim to provide information, motivational stories, and practical tips to help you better understand how to apply these ideas to your daily life. And together, let's use them to create a positive impact on your life!

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Pendidikan

Behavioral Learning reflection

11 September 2021   15:47 Diperbarui: 19 September 2021   07:15 246
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Pendidikan. Sumber ilustrasi: PEXELS/McElspeth

When we first studied behaviorism in class, I did not know how many applications it might have or how much of an impact it could have on education. My earlier readings for this course did not seem to capture my interest as much as hearing my classmates’ elaboration and presentation. When the subject was addressed in class and everyone was debating, it shifted my viewpoint.

I believe that behaviorism is harsh since it disregards people’s sentiments. I also think that by providing reinforcers, whether negative or positive, you are conditioning the behavior. Also, when this conditioning is no longer present, the subject frequently returns to the previous behavior, so I believe it is preferable to apply this theory to young children because they are more vulnerable.

When we learned operant and classical behaviorism, many memories from my childhood surfaced, and I now understand why they relate to me. For example, when the recess bell rang, we all knew we had to get back to class or risk getting in trouble, so we already were answering mechanically. Like operant conditioning, I was rewarded at school for finishing work on time and being correct, or even at home when I completed duties such as putting my clothes in the washing bin, tidying my bed on weekends, hanging my clothing when they were out of place, and so on. We are always reacting to stimuli that are offered to us.

This concept, I studied, cannot apply to everyone; it very much depends on the individual and the situation. After giving it some consideration, I realized it isn’t all that bad; I know I previously claimed that it was cruel, but it ends up working, I know since many teachers used it on me, as did my parents, and much of what I know now is because of their usage of this approach.

Aside from that, it is worth mentioning the token economy, which is linked to behaviorism and I had previously read about. A behavioral strategy that is primarily used to encourage or reduce certain behaviors. Although it is most often utilized with children, adults can also benefit from it.

The token economy approach may be useful when seeking to increase the frequency of desired performance or decrease the prevalence of incorrect behavior. This may enhance students’ engagement, and as a teacher at a primary and secondary school, this might be a tool of the behaviorism method that could promote classroom productivity. I should point out that my colleagues’ presentation did not address this topic, that just by relating the exposition and recalling my previous knowledge on the subject, stimulated and sparked new insights and interesting ideas that could apply and be fruitful. From there, I contemplated how I might apply it to my students because doing so allows them to take responsibility and keep a record of their actions, while also allowing them to avoid having to comply with all of them. It assists them in organizing and tracking their time.

I still remember those days in third grade when they used it on me in the classroom, and today, the adult man turned into a teacher and at the same time a student in this virtual class, wonders how to apply it to his own pupils.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Pendidikan Selengkapnya
Lihat Pendidikan Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun