Mohon tunggu...
Devani Herast
Devani Herast Mohon Tunggu... -

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Lyfe

"A Story from A Friend"

4 April 2018   09:04 Diperbarui: 4 April 2018   09:16 289
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Gaya Hidup. Sumber ilustrasi: FREEPIK/Rawpixel

Searching for your true self is so difficult for me. Back in those days, when it all started. When I was in the 8th grade of Junior High School. I had this friend who is so good at his things, music. He used to bring a ukulele to school and he also often got punishment because he played it when the class began. I liked it a lot at that time. Sooner, he showed his talent to the school in some school events. He played his ukulele and another musical instrument too, such as guitar, bass, piano, and saxophone. I adored him and his music a lot. At that time I realized that I was into it too.

Someday, in the art class we had to give a performance and luckily we were together in one group. Obviously, he was chosen to be the leader of the group. He planned anything and he came to me, he asked me to be the singer. I thought it was the funniest decision he ever made, but he said, "You're the best one to sing this song, we trust you, so please do your best.

I trust you, we trust you," I still remembered. I struggled a lot during the practice, it was so hard for me to sing and at that time I couldn't able to distinguish tone. He also struggled when he taught me, I could see it clearly through his expression, but still, he didn't give up. He made me realize that singing is a part of myself on that day when we performed. My teacher and my friends praised me at that time, and nothing else could make me happy.

Days passed, we became good friend. Despite singing, he taught me to play about guitar a little, my first song was All of Me by John Legend. I've been joining many singing events and the next event is on Independence Day. He asked me to sing at that time, well it was so interesting for me. The song that I sang was Bendera by Coklat. I can see that he did not find any difficulties anymore while working with me, we got each other back. Like we imagined before, we got the first place at that event.

We were so happy. Few weeks after that, he was admitted to hospital due to dengue fever. I couldn't see him at that time because I was too busy during the visiting hours. Eight days after that, he was sent to another hospital in Surabaya. I couldn't believe that his condition became worse. Two days after I heard that news that he was sent to another hospital, my friend called me that he was gone, forever. I remembered that time I was just waking up from my nap time. I could not stop my tears when I heard the news and also when I accompanied him to his final resting place.

Right now, I am so happy when someone praised my voice when I sing but still he was the first one who recognized my voice. When I sing, I always remember him in any words on the lyrics. He was a friend who I called a hero, who makes me realizing my talent and my true self. I've grown in every song I sing and I always dedicated it to him. I don't even know how if I never met him, am I being able to sing like I do today? Well, I am so thankful for his presence.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Lyfe Selengkapnya
Lihat Lyfe Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun