Mohon tunggu...
Zefanya NormanTodoan
Zefanya NormanTodoan Mohon Tunggu... Administrasi - Observe, read and write

Indonesian living in Tanzania

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Humaniora

Wonderful Birthday Siku Ya Kuzaliwa

23 April 2020   01:49 Diperbarui: 23 April 2020   01:41 79
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.

Yesterday was my birthday. I want to share the experience that I had last night. Let me elaborate the constellation of the magnificent journey of camaraderie in Dar.

Kama Kawaida - as usual Tuesday night, far from sleep, I woke up. I have been thinking about something randomly, which is the reason why I was wide-awake every night. Lying on the peanut sized bed and then I went back to sleep.

Wednesday morning, 06 September 2017 right on my birthday, I didn't expect anything to happen on my birthday. I arrived at the office then I checked my social media; messenger etc and I saw some of the birthday greetings that came from friends, relatives and my family known as rafiki in Dar. I felt so blessed about it. On the other hand, there was nothing special in the office, everything went as usual (boring).

The time was 9.29 AM and I received a message from Elizabeth. She asked me to meet her at her house. She told me that she had something to give me. I felt sleepy and tired. I just wanted to sleep after I reached home. I negotiated with her and asked if I can meet her tomorrow. I almost regretted not meeting her. On the other hand, she insisted that we meet. Then I decided to encounter her directly from the office.

Knock knock knock, I have arrived! I texted her and told her that I am in front of the door. She opened the door then I entered the room. She asked me to sit on the most comfortable couch ever in the entire Lugalo, Upanga area :p. I released the tiredness for a moment. Then she gave me a birthday card and a gift that was wrapped with a neon blue color wrapping paper. I opened the gift from the wrapper carefully. I found a keychain. It looked cute and glittery. Afterwards, I opened the card. I read every word written meticulously. It was beautiful. Elizabeth knows how to intertwine the words amazingly and it was pleasing to read. Thank you for the words Liz. It means a lot to me.

Furthermore, she told me to have dinner in Masaki. I was a bit suspicious. I asked her if it's only the two of us. A question mark was in my head. She told me YES with a big bold letter Y. She ordered Uber. When got inside the uber I still kept on asking her the same question, "Are you sure?" Is it only the two of us?" and her answer still remained the same.

We arrived at the destination. The name of the place was George and Dragon in Masaki. I've been there several times and it's such a great place to get along. On that day George and Dragon was not crowded. I entered the room without being overly suspicious and opened the door that directed me to the restaurant area. Petrified! Astonished! From a distance I saw my Rafiki in Dar family!!!! 

I saw Allen, Vicky, Milly and her cousin Kelly, Bashar, Yosua, and David. They sang Happy Birthday to me. I was so touched and overwhelmed. I have never imagined before that they'll make this surprise for me. They even brought me some cakes and gifts. ;') Bawled my eyes. Joseph, Orcun, Mima and Puneet also came. Neema wasn't there but I could feel you!

I was so happy, even now I am exceedingly happy. Frankly speaking we had fun! I think everything that happened was just a lot of happenstance. Everything just lined up in a really fantastic way. Everything was unplanned and it was kind of wonderful in that right. Somehow, my destiny to work in Tanzania is not serendipity. 

I met the beauty in diversity, not only friends but so called family. We came from different countries, cultural backgrounds etc, but we can still connect to one another/with one another. I do really appreciate this. I cherish each and every moment I spent with you guys. I thank all of you for what you have done for me.

To sum up I would like to say that family is not always blood. It's the people in your life who accept you for who you are. It's not diminished by distance or time too.

HALAMAN :
  1. 1
  2. 2
Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Humaniora Selengkapnya
Lihat Humaniora Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun