Mohon tunggu...
suray an
suray an Mohon Tunggu... Guru - A Daddy of Two

Currently residing in Jogja. Loves traveling, watching movies, listening to music. Carpe Diem: a motivation to enjoy even trivialities in life.

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Sosbud

My Students' Unapologetic Journeys into "Multicultural Class"

20 Juni 2020   19:00 Diperbarui: 20 Juni 2020   19:04 104
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.

I have been involving myself in a class on Multiculturalism since last semester (2019). At first I was adamant to be in charge of managing this class since it surely required a lot of readings and preparation. But, it turned out to be one of the classes that I love teaching. Indeed it has been a rewarding experience for me personally since I can understand how my students think of the issues and topics of discussion that we covered every week for the whole semester. We talked about wide varieties of multiculturalism-related issues faced by societies around the world. Of course, we just picked some that surely would intrigue the class’ curiosities.

To give an overview of what we covered during this semester, I will highlight about the papers written by the students. Since I did not want to let them unguided as to what topics they could write about, I gave them a wide (really wide) arrays of terms that we covered in the class. There were more than 100 words/terms with initial letter starting from A to W. I asked them to choose at least 12 words with different initial letter from which they could begin writing their paper---based on the words they have chosen. I know it could be a daunting task for them since they had to read all of the 170 more words, understand their meanings, and then pick only 12 of them.

This was a deliberate approach that I used since I really wanted to know what kinds of topics that they were interested in or which one(s) that they had invested themselves into during the whole class. Once again, it could be a difficult thing to begin with since they had to come up with an interesting, sensible, and believable topic that would cover all of the 12 words they picked in the first place. Also, I asked them to make sure that the first paragraph of their paper must be able to lure the readers into buying their arguments.

Here are the list of words/terms that they had to choose from in alphabetical order:

Ableism

Acculturation

Affirmation

Acceptance

Anti Bias

Anti Racism

Anti Semitism

HALAMAN :
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Sosbud Selengkapnya
Lihat Sosbud Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun