Mohon tunggu...
Rg Kresna
Rg Kresna Mohon Tunggu... Bankir - Economic and Financial Enthusiast

I am trying to be an economist who is able to improve global economic

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Humaniora

Chapter I - Never Stop Pursuing Your Dreams: "Struggling for English Tests"

12 Mei 2018   22:18 Diperbarui: 24 Juni 2018   10:10 294
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Humaniora. Sumber ilustrasi: PEXELS/San Fermin Pamplona

This is a story of an ordinary man who dreams to study abroad.

It was all started from a text message at the end of 2013. I had to dig up my dream to study abroad that I had buried deeply.

As a schoolboy, I had a dream to study abroad. However, I thought that scholarship and studying abroad were only for the best student who always ranked top 5 in the class. Me? I did not include in that category despite I had been in top 10 in the class, but it was very seldom. To obtain a bachelor degree was not easy for me. After graduating from senior high school, I was studying Chemistry for two years. I could not continue my study because I could not follow the lesson properly.

Then I took an exam to join the course in Economics. It was a huge decision for me, yet I never regretted it because I found my world in Economics. Having graduated with the bachelor degree in Economics from Gadjah Mada University in 2009, I got a job as a relationship manager at the state-owned bank. In 2011, I was assigned to work in Ketapang, West Kalimantan Province. In total, I spent 5 years working in West Kalimantan Province. At the end of 2013, I got an inspiration from my colleague. He received a scholarship to pursue a master’s degree in Public Policy at the Erasmus Rotterdam University. Mr. Moh. Hatta, a founding father of Indonesia, was alumni of this university. It was like a thunderstruck that hit me directly to my mind. Since then I believed that everyone could obtain scholarship and study abroad.

In February 2014, I took the first IELTS test in Pontianak. I only had one-month preparation for the test. Unfortunately, I only got overall score 6. To study abroad, at least I had to obtain an overall score of 6.5. I was down due to this failure, but I had to rise quickly to pursue my dream to study abroad. My office colleague acquainted me with an English tutor. I took a short course as the preparation for the second IELTS test.

After my wife gave a birth to my second daughter in April 2014, I went to Jakarta to take the IELTS test. Unfortunately, I only got an overall score of 6 again. I was very sad due to this result. However, I tried to apply a few scholarships and overseas universities. What about the result? Of course, I failed. All these failures only made my sad deeper.

In September 2014, I took the third IELTS test. This time, I believed that I had made a better preparation. My intuition was right. Eventually, I got a band score of 6.5. I was so excited with this result. I told to my wife that this was a ticket for a journey to Europe. I believed that.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Humaniora Selengkapnya
Lihat Humaniora Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun