Mohon tunggu...
Filafia
Filafia Mohon Tunggu... Full Time Blogger - Writing & working

Writing and working while enjoying things in life

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Worklife

The Worst Manager I Have Ever Seen in My Entire Life

9 Juli 2019   14:04 Diperbarui: 9 Juli 2019   14:22 33
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.
Lihat foto
Karier. Sumber ilustrasi: FREEPIK/Freepik

The first time I got accepted to work in this IP consultant office in Jakarta, T********u,  I was confused because there were many empty seats in the room. Turned out that there were many resignations recently. I thought "what's wrong?". And it was answered some times later. 

The manager has a very sharp tongue. Even simple acts like an employee who took a deep breath during a meeting or a new employee who didn't know how to do things, could result in a really harsh scolding, while perhaps the employees did those acts not on purpose. Just weeks after I worked there, a senior employee resigned. So the team mostly consists of newcomers who worked for 0 to 3 months. 

Then just 1,5 months after I worked there, accidentally I sent double invoice to a client which happened to be a big player in Indonesia electronic goods, S****n. They paid it before realizing that they have done the same about two years ago. The manager got really angry and strangely REFUSED to refund the money. She wanted us to think of any reasons to keep it. I think that is ridiculous and dishonest. If a merchant no longer have the promised goods to sell then the customer's money has to be returned. The manager reasoned that she was afraid to lose the trust of that important client. Also, she didn't want to lose face in front of the head office in Malaysia because of this. 

According to me those are still not the correct reasons to keep this "illegal" money. Trust can't be built based on lies. Not to mention that everybody will surely make a mistake so why must be afraid with something inevitable? Simply an apology will be enough. Then as another solution, I offered to make the client's money as a credit for their next project so we don't need to refund and the client's money can be used for good. But the manager scolded me instead and said that credit on accounting is really complicated thus we couldn't do it. Well, I have learned a little accounting before and honestly don't think it is that bad. 

Actually, "the sending invoice incident" is not entirely my fault since I have confirmed about the payment to the accountant first and she stated that the client HASN'T paid so I made them invoice. But since the accountant is the manager's right hand woman (not to mention that she twisted the story), the manager refused to acknowledge this mistake and wanted to blame it all on me, which I refused. Not only that. The certificate that we thought was there to be paid in fact was not a certificate at all. It has the same form with a certificate with a different purpose and worse, has expired. So the question is: why did the expired certificate-like document put into the stack of certificates to be sent to clients? 

It was misleading moreover to someone new like me. It showed me how bad is the document management there. But once again, the manager ignored this mistake and accused me to search for justification. Well, perhaps I played a part in this incident but I was sure that many other mistakes also lead to this incident. 

But it seemed like the manager really determined to make me as the only culprit so she refused my reason. Just because of this, she immediately fired me. I was like, okay, since I was sure that working with this unethical company will not bring me any good. 

When the termination letter came, the contents were mostly untrue so I refused to sign it. I also refused to give up my (personal) Skype account because firstly, I only used it for a month; secondly, there was no any works left; thirdly, it was not made with a company email account; and last but not least, I couldn't leave my PRIVATE account with has MY NAME for a company which fired me just because of ONE mistake. It is true that I made this Skype for the purpose of working and all the contacts were my colleagues, but I didn't think I could give it up after receiving this kind of treatment. I agreed to deleted all the contact though since I didn't intend to misuse it in any way. 

While trying to clean up the computer, the manager suddenly stood behind me and watched my every step, making me really uncomfortable since I opened my private online accounts as well. She began to shriek like a banshee when I deleted some of the files, accusing me trying to wipe out all of the company documents. It is ridiculous because all of them could be found in email, also I did it in my previous companies to help them wiping out my junk files. Honestly there was no complain until now and I never broke any company computer so far. 

After that, the manager shouted at me like a crazy mad woman to drive me out. This is really THE WORST MANAGER I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE since I graduated from the university 6 years ago. I have worked in many companies with various kind of managers and NEVER one of them trying to chase me out or shouting at me as rude as this woman. 

It is not that no one has ever scolded me before, just this woman has clearly crossed the line so I shouted back at her. Yes, this is the first time in my life I shouted back at the manager in their own office. That is just to show you how BAD is this woman. No wonder the turnover rate of this company is so high. 

HALAMAN :
  1. 1
  2. 2
Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Worklife Selengkapnya
Lihat Worklife Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun