Mohon tunggu...
Adam Afrixal Sinuraya
Adam Afrixal Sinuraya Mohon Tunggu... Administrasi - Seorang Penulis Biasa

Seorang pelajar seumur hidup. Saya ingin berbagi pemikiran dan pengalaman saya lewat berbagai hal. di kompasiana saya ingin belajar menulis lebih lanjut. https://www.adamafrixal.com

Selanjutnya

Tutup

Film Pilihan

Mile 22 (2018), "Iko Uwais's Wasted Opportunity in Long Stretch"

11 September 2018   20:19 Diperbarui: 11 September 2018   20:41 806
+
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun
Kompasiana adalah platform blog. Konten ini menjadi tanggung jawab bloger dan tidak mewakili pandangan redaksi Kompas.

I have always been a fan of action movie, and the raid is one of the best action movies that I have ever watched. It was full of cool choreography and intense moment, even though the story is pretty simple. The main prontagonist cast Iko Uwais an actor that is a martial artist at heart. This iko uwais play a big role in Mile 22 so I actually have a big expectation for this movie. In this post I will tell you what I think of the movie and whether you should watch it or not.


First off, like I mentioned I watched it for Iko uwais. It was a big opportunity for him to share a big screen with a big name actor such as Mark Wahlberg in this movie. I am glad for him as Indonesian and wish that he would get more exposure in the future. It would also cast Laura cohen from Walking dead as one of the investigators, so I think the cast is pretty professional.

(lazone.id)
(lazone.id)
In the movie, Iko Uwais act as Li Noor who is a mysterious agent, who has his own agenda tried to approach Mark Wahlberg which stars as James Silva an operative of CIA's highly-prized but disliked unit. Silva and his team must utilize the information from Li Noor to succeed his mission, but in return Li Noor would like to be helped in order to get out of the country. The story is pretty simple but, there are some twist and mystery concerning Li Noor. I personally think it overcomplicate the plot.

It is my personal opinion, I think the  acting is not done too well. Some of the cast was just loud, and so rude you wouldn't believe that some professional have the privilege to be a loud asshole and curse so much in their life. Because I don't like them at their personality, I didn't really get attached to any of the cast and didn't really care for them beside Iko Uwais.

(news.yahoo.com)
(news.yahoo.com)
As for the action scenes (particularly Iko Uwais), which is the main reason I watched this it did deliver but only for a little. Instead, they make him incapable of showing his great martial arts from the raid by making him handcuffed for the latter half of the movie. They replace most of the action in the latter half from melee fight into a chase and shooting scene between characters.

I think the best scene is from when they handcuffed iko uwais in a bed and he have to fight agents with a handicap. It was very well done, but I think that is the only memorable scene from the film for me. It was not such a great film, and i think it will pale in front of the memories since mission impossible fallout screen not too long before this movie premiered.

They put more highlight on Mark Wahlberg annoying character rather than action capable Iko and that is what I think this movie greatest missed opportunity. Mile 22 (2018) was a long long way From my expectation how it could be.

Mohon tunggu...

Lihat Konten Film Selengkapnya
Lihat Film Selengkapnya
Beri Komentar
Berkomentarlah secara bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab komentator seperti diatur dalam UU ITE

Belum ada komentar. Jadilah yang pertama untuk memberikan komentar!
LAPORKAN KONTEN
Alasan
Laporkan Konten
Laporkan Akun